I apologize

One day, the shadows that surround me will claim me…
Someday, there will be nothing of me but these lines to be read…
On that day, would you hold the past against me?
Would you then think to yourself, there was so much more needed to be said…
Because I,
Am nothing but the embers,
of a broken star,
Shattered oh so long ago,
And darlings I,
don’t want to be fondly remembered,
show me that you love me now,
before it is too late to ever be shown…
One day, I’ll confront the demons who have always guided me…
Someday, I’ll be free from their claws and gaping maws…
On that day, I hope to be man enough to say to thee…
That I apologize, for the hearts broken, the smiles stolen, and simply the man who I was…
Because I,
Am nothing but dust,
floating in the wind,
to be scattered across space and time,
And darlings I,
don’t want these moments to be lost,
life is too short, laughter too fleeting, love too fragile,
for our story to end with “Once upon a time…”
So I apologize….
One day, I hope you’ll remember me fondly…
Someday, I hope that you can see how desperately I tried…
On that day, I hope that I am around and that we can be…
All that we promised each other; but until then I’ll hide these tears that I’ve cried…
And I’ll apologize…
Because I,
see these black crows surround me,
and though they circle high,
I know it’s only a matter of time,
And darlings I,
don’t want to keep these all these things inside me,
So I’ll cleave my heart with this pen and bleed these words on this page; because it’s the only way I know how to stay alive…
And I apologize…
Leave a Reply

